Saint Lucia
This article was added by the user . TheWorldNews is not responsible for the content of the platform.

BAYS FC are Winners of MPR Promotions Football

BAYS FC emerged champions of the MPR Promotions Football Babonneau Youth Synergy Invitational as they got past New Generation F.C in a penalty tussle, in the finals played last Saturday (June 24) at the Fond Assau Playing Field.

BAYS FC captain collects the Championship Trophy from Castries South East MP Joachim Henry.
BAYS FC captain collects the Championship Trophy from Castries South East MP Joachim Henry.

New Generations FC, the home team fancied their chances of pulling through after the scores were locked 3-all at regulation time. New Generations goal scorers were Rickelme Lionel, Jeremie Abraham and Baggio Edward. Scoring for BAYS were Nick Longville with a brace and Mc. Zenious Nicholas.

Bays F.C scored first to go 1-up, but New Generation equalized through a free kick from Rickelme Lionel to make it 1-1.  Bays scored again just before the interval, to take a 2-1 lead.

In the 2nd half, New Generation equalized with a header from Jeremie Abraham to make it 2-2 and went on to take the lead 3-2, with a goal from Baggio Edward.

Bays shot back with an equalizer to level the score at 3-all.

However, in the ensuing penalty shootout, Bays FC prevailed 5 – 4 to be crowned Champions.

In the penalty shoot-out; Bays netted their allotted five penalties, while New Generation scored 4 out of 5, missing the 3rd kick.

In the Third Place Play Offs; CT Foundation defeated Garrand 2 – 0, with goals from Nicolas Joseph and Raphiel Henry.

At the Post-Match Awards Presentation, the following were awarded:

Bays FC – Champion

New Generation FC – 2nd place

C.T. Foundation – 3rd place

Best Coach – Shervan Benjamin – Bays

M.V.P – Duayne Jn. Baptiste – Bays

Best Young Player – Baggio Edward – New Generations

Most Goals – Rickelme Lionel – New Generations and Nick Longville – Bays

Best Defender – Karim Mondesir – Bays

Best Goal Keeper – Jurell Mathurin – Bays

Most Discipline Team – C.T Foundation.

Meanwhile, matches continued in the Arnold Clouden Memorial Football competition at the Marchand Grounds, last Saturday, with another double header.

In the first game, Bagatelle routed Marchand Veterans 8 – 1. Three players scored braces, with Edward Clery converting in the18th and 33rd minutes, Kashare Sealy 42nd and 47th minutes. Other goals came from Dillian Joseph 16th, Kimuni Desir 71st and Merkel St. Rose 77th minutes.

Jerome Scott scored for Marchand Veterans.

Pavee beat Bocage 2- nil with goals from Janaguan Montoute 40th and Daniel Mathurin 84th minutes.

On Sunday, Arundel Hill continued their fine form by defeating Tou rouge 7 – 2. The Hill side got a hat trick from Donavan Phillip, 21st, 27th and 53rd minutes. Other goals came from Andrus Remy a penalty in the 14th, Lamar George 38th, Joshua La Force 81st and Ezechiel Henry 85th minutes.

Scoring for Tou Rouge were Ivern Frederick and Ianie Lesmond in the 20th and 76th minutes respectively.

Boulevard defeated La Cou Dou 3 – 2, with goals from Linus Augustin in the 45th and 69th min and Kimany Monrose in the 42nd minutes.

Scoring for La Cou Dou were N. Charles and Ned Francois in the 20th and 89th minutes respectively.